Led By Industry


A major strength of NEPIC as a cluster is our level of engagement with senior people within each of our participating member companies. We are owned by our members and led-by-industry. We have a strong team of 170 industry mentors and a leadership team comprising of 60.

NEPIC is chaired by former Redcar-MP, Ian Swales and vice chaired by Richard Smith of Banner Chemicals and Mark Kenrick, former CEO of Lotte Chemical UK.

Sembcorp Utilities’ Douglas Annan, Steve Bagshaw of Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnology and Aiden Walker of Piramal Healthcare, NEPIC’s Stan Higgins and company secretary Martin Porton complete the board of directors.

NEPIC’s Leadership Team work together to ensure the delivery of the Cluster’s Strategy for Growth and focuses on key industry themes and issues including: GDP gap closure & inward investment, skills & education, trade & exports, marketing & communications, manufacturing productivity, engineering management, integration, SME & supply chain development, low carbon and innovation.

© Copyright. North East of England Process Industry Cluster (NEPIC) 2015