Innovation Award Winner 2018

Sponsored by CPI

Game changers: Steve Walls, Graham Hillier (Centre for Process Innovation), Bruce Williams & Sam Trotter (Micropore Technologies) & Iain Wright (NEPIC)

Innovation Award

Winner: Micropore Technologies

Spun out from Loughborough University, Micropore Technology Ltd offer the only process for making particles, and emulsions with extremely narrow particle size distribution, that are scalable to industrially meaningful product volumes.

The company’s patented technology is based on the well-established process of membrane distribution emulsification to produce particles with very narrow size distribution. Low shear and inherently gentle, it also enables encapsulation of sensitive materials such as proteins and enzymes – even living human organisms – without distortion or damage.

Scaling beyond the lab bench proved the biggest hurdle, however, Micropore utilised local expertise to successfully overcome this long-standing challenge to deliver lab and manufacturing-scale equipment suitable for continuous processing in a variety of sectors and at different operational scales. The team has launched three devices – the Micropore LDC-1, ideal for initial lab work; the Micropore LTS-1, designed for process and formulation development and the latest model, the Micropore AXF, that enables clients to use all their development results in the custom design of a full scale-scale manufacturing unit.

Available for pharmaceutical, food and general industrial applications, Micropore’s technology is now being sold around the world – with the enquiry pipeline suggesting that this technology was the missing piece in ME jigsaw. Along with increasing growth in the UK and Europe, Micropore have their sights set on penetrating the US market having opened a sales office in New Jersey.

<< Back to Awards Home Page
  • 2019 Award Categories

     Apprentice of the Year
    Young Achievers
    Primary School Environmental
    Corporate Environmental
     Small Business of the Year
       Communities & Reputation Award
    Apprenticeship Employer of the Year
     Engineering Firm of the Year
     Innovation Award
    Manufacturer of the Year
    Outstanding Contribution

    Quick Links

     Become a sponsor
      Photo Gallery
    Book a table

    Event Contacts

     For 2019 table enquiries:
    Lynne Aungiers
    01642 442 562 | 07885 807 801

    For 2019 award, sponsorship & media enquires:
    Louise Gwynne-Jones
    01642 442 569 | 07808 029 967

    For hotel reservations:
    Hardwick Hall
    01740 620 253


  • Fujifilm
    Altrad logo
    px group
    Lotte Chemical
    cpi logo

    © Copyright. North East of England Process Industry Cluster (NEPIC) 2015