Manufacturer of the Year 2018

Sponsored by Ward Hadaway

Outstanding manufacturing performance: Steve Walls, Dean Murray (Ward Hadaway), Gary Reid (Aesica Pharmaceutical) & Iain Wright (NEPIC)

Manufacturer of the Year

Winner: Aesica Pharmaceutical

Over the last 3 years, the Aesica Pharmaceutical facility in Cramlington has undergone a significant programme of change, leading to an operation that is driving step change performance improvement in terms of EHS, customer service, quality and financial operating performance. This change in approach and outlook has seen the site win new long term contracts, increasing site turnover by over 30%, whilst improving all aspects of its operation.

Acquired in 2014 by LSE listed company Consort Medical, the Cramlington facility had to change to deliver long term shareholder growth, increasing sales and profitability whilst mitigating risks for its shareholders. Through the active engagement of people throughout the organisation in the site’s Operational Excellence drive, the results of this programme of change are clear to see.

At the forefront is the organisation’s commitment to drive the site’s EHS performance, resulting in significant milestones including 1,000,000 hours worked since last lost time accident, 80% reduction in chemical emissions on volume production train and full electricity and steam conversion to the new CHP facility. Quality and delivery performance have seen improvements also. The firm achieved a 70% reduction in open quality deviations, 95% product right first time and 96% documentation right first time. Production batches manufactured increased by 30%, train days by 15% and time, in full, delivery performance is exceeding 98%. Furthermore, shop floor driven improvements have reduced bottlenecking and increased product yield.

Across all aspects of the business, the Aesica Pharmaceutical Cramlington site has achieved significant results that will help drive long term growth, new business and the site’s future for many years to come. A very worthy winner of the 2018 Manufacturer of the Year Award.

<< Back to Awards Home Page
  • 2019 Award Categories

     Apprentice of the Year
    Young Achievers
    Primary School Environmental
    Corporate Environmental
     Small Business of the Year
       Communities & Reputation Award
    Apprenticeship Employer of the Year
     Engineering Firm of the Year
     Innovation Award
    Manufacturer of the Year
    Outstanding Contribution

    Quick Links

     Become a sponsor
      Photo Gallery
    Book a table

    Event Contacts

     For 2019 table enquiries:
    Lynne Aungiers
    01642 442 562 | 07885 807 801

    For 2019 award, sponsorship & media enquires:
    Louise Gwynne-Jones
    01642 442 569 | 07808 029 967

    For hotel reservations:
    Hardwick Hall
    01740 620 253


  • Fujifilm
    Altrad logo
    px group
    Lotte Chemical
    cpi logo

    © Copyright. North East of England Process Industry Cluster (NEPIC) 2015